58 Days To Go

When I started training for the Fall Equinox Run, it seemed way too far away to start running, but I’m glad I started when I did because I may not have laced up and hit the trail if I’d pushed it back two weeks.

April 22 Run
My first Run Back At It!

On April 20, when I committed to running again, I was in a completely different place than I am now. At the time, I was extremely happy – had come back from spending a week in Puerto Rico, had an amazing guy in my life, work was going well and I was ready to conquer another half marathon. Two weeks later, life came crashing down on me – the boy split, found out some bad news about work and I checked out mentally. Yet, running remained consistent.

A Few Weeks Later
A Few Weeks Later, A Little Further

In fact, running got me through the hard times. Let’s be frank, most people don’t want to talk about their hard times and a lot of people don’t want to hear it when you do want to talk about them, so having an outlet is extremely important. I’m thankful I’m a runner, that I have something that gets my endorphins going when they would otherwise lay dormant.

Speeding Up
Speeding Up!

Today, after about 91 days of training, I’ve just finished running 8 miles. I’m stronger than I was three months ago, not only in body but in mind. I’ve learned to listen to my body, to rest when it needs rest, to push my body a little harder when it can take it.

IMG_0168.JPG
Longest Run Thus Far! Gotta Work on Time a Bit but Still Happy.

I’ve also learned to pay attention to my mind, to name my feelings for what they really are not just react out of fear and anger. It’s kinda amazing how easy it is to be happy when you let go of anger. And when I do feel anger coming on, I run or take a walk.

I’ve got another 58 days to go until race day and I know there are upcoming obstacles in my near future. But at this point, I say bring it because, with running, I got it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

