Second Time Beginner

Miles: 2

Beer: 1 and 1Rosé

No matter what reason you had to take a hiatus from running, coming back to it can be hard, especially for a seasoned runner. Luckily, I’m not a seasoned runner. Still, I’ve trained for a few marathons and even more half marathons and a lot of 5Ks.

If you’re like me, you can remember the first time you decided to lace up your running shoes and hit the pavement. I’m not talking about the time you were forced to run a mile in PE or during field hockey practice. I’m referring to the time you decided that you were going to be a runner, the time you went outside or hit the treadmill to start and finish a run on your own free will.

I was 27 years old when I really decided I wanted to be a runner. I was timid but I was determined and I was excited. I knew nothing about fartleks or tempo runs. I couldn’t tell you how long a 5K was in miles.

Today though, I’m four days into my training for the Equinox Fall Half Marathon in Fort Collins, CO and I’m frustrated. I know what I’m capable of finishing now so starting off at 2 miles is a bit of a bummer at times, but I know that if I push myself too hard, too fast I will injure myself.

The good news is: I have help! Help I didn’t have when I was 27. Apps galore! Sure there were iPods so you could download tempo run playlists but today, we have apps that help you train for half marathons. This time around I’ve decided to use the Nike + Running Club Coach.

 

IMG_8331

I put in my weight, height, average pace of my last run and the most recent long run I’ve completed and it created a plan for me. When I first glanced at it, I was a little taken aback – it had me start at a 11:32 mile and for only a half mile. But after the first day, I was happy to learn that it’s all part of the process. They give you a benchmark run to determine your pace throughout and provide encouragement.

It’s day four and I’ve just completed a recovery run. I’ll be running a 5K at the end of week 4 and on my way to really training for that half!

Happy Running!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

