Not Accepted: DC Running

Miles Run: 1 actual running and 2.5 while playing soccer

Beers Consumed: 0

So, I’ve waited a few days and I’ve still heard nothing from the DC running group I tried to join on MeetUp. This bothers me for a couple reasons.

Generally, I think runners have a decent acceptance of other people, but there are a few who like to think very highly of themselves and put off a bad vibe. This group may be one of those groups of people.

I also am really trying to like DC more because I think I’m going to be here more often for work.  This means finding a sense of community, even if it’s only once a month. Finding a running group is one of the ways I think will really help me to gain that sense of community.

But, if the DC runners won’t have me – the DC soccer players will.

Today, I joined about 30 other people for a free game of pickup soccer at The Ellipse.  What a great group!  I may have even made a new friend. Mercedes (Meche) and Kay also joined. Well, Kay played and Meche too photos.

I decided to run there since I don’t have cleats or shinguards and I figured since I’m wearing my running clothes and shoes, why not run? It’s only about a mile away but it took a bit because of all the stop and go on the sidewalks, the lights, and tourists stopping for photos.  Not to say I’m not one of them. I stopped too.

IMG_4835

Anyway, I’m still not 100% sold on DC but it’s getting better, especially when there is no snow.

Cheers.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

