Running for Hummingbirds and Rockers

MILES RUN: 3 

BEERS CONSUMED: 1

It’s been a long, long time since I last wrote and posted a blog.  However, I recently signed up for the San Antonio Rock ‘N Roll Half and I thought it was time to start typing again.  So, here I am.  The real reason I decided to blog though was because I had a few things happen today that made me realize it was time to lace up. So what are those things?

Well, first, I saw a hummingbird on my run today.  I feel like I don’t see them here at all so, I actually stopped running to watch it.  It was so pretty and they just amaze me.  I did a quick little search and found that hummingbirds symbolize joy, happiness, love.  I mean I guess it’s pretty much a given though right?  Looking that up on the internet was not really necessary…  Yeah but, now I have backup.

About two minutes later, I also ran into The Betty Rocker.   Now, for those of you who do not know, The Betty Rocker is pretty awesome.  I attempted to do a 30 day challenge but had to stop due to some things that I won’t get into right now.  My friend also shared Rocker’s book with me and I felt fabulous after one week.  Starting tomorrow, I’m restarting the plan.  It’s focused on upping your stamina, your lean muscle and your overall fitness while teaching you to eat clean.  Now, I’m not a fan of fad diets at all so if you think, oh boy just another No Sugar thing, think again.  I mean, yes I do the occasional thirty day cleanse from beer and sugar but this is more about changing your eating habits and allowing yourself to indulge once a week or during the holidays, cause, let’s face it, we all like to eat.  I mean who doesn’t like a freaking ice cream cone every now and again?  Now, granted, the one thing that I STILL won’t give up is beer, which I know is the one thing that is causing this gut of mine to exist but it’s my vice and I like it.  I say this because she explicitly says you don’t’ have to give up beer but of course limiting it is a good idea.  So, my point… I ran into the brains and body behind the plan and I was very excited to find out that she was genuine, generous and extremely pleasant and really didn’t seem to care that i made her stop running to talk to me.  (Hey, I passed on the chance to actually TALK to Paul Rudd – did I ever tell you about the time I almost talked to Paul Rudd? Yeah, I thought so…)

So, basically, I had two things happen today that made me remember why I love running.  First – you get to see really awesome things and second, you get to see and meet really cool people.   There are other reasons too but that’s for another time.

So, I’m going to start lacing up again and typing too.

Cheers!

Leigh

Leave a Reply

