Mandeville, LA here I come!

Miles Run: 2 yesterday.

Beers consumed: 4 yesterday.

Bruises: 0 but my thumb is sprained.

Mandeville Images

So, if you have looked at any other pages on this blog, you will know that I have a goal to run a half marathon in every state.  I have only completed Michigan and Texas. The original goal was to do this in two years starting this past April.  So far, I have not done a damn thing to accomplish this goal – unless you count sitting on my ass and talking about running as doing something.  So, today, after reading a blog because a woman liked a post of mine (because she is a better blogger than I am and knows how to promote her blog) about setting a bucket list and actually completing it, I was inspired to look for a half marathon to run.

Mandeville Images

Well, I found one. I am going to do the Gulf Cost Half Marathon in Mandeville, LA.

Why Mandevile?  Well, a few reasons.  One, it’s only a nine hour drive (hey, I live in the biggest freaking state – it’s bigger than most European countries for gosh sakes – nine hours is nothing). Two, I have never been to New Orleans and have always wanted to go and it’s not that far so kill two birds with one stone – cause isn’t that the point of me running a half marathon in every state anyway – to see the places in the country that I want to see? Three, it’s on a Sunday.  I work Saturdays and so, it’s Sundays or bust.  Four, it closes at 2,000 people.  I like that.  There is something about a race that isn’t TOO big.  Maybe it’s the feeling that I can finish higher in my age group, even though we know that I will never come close to being at the top.

I am just glad I found a race to commit to and that the views will be pretty spectacular.

 

Wanna cheer me on?  Join me for the adventure!

LAF


These photos of Mandeville are courtesy of TripAdvisor.
Leave a Reply

