Running away – or straight at – dogs…

Miles: 4

Beers: 0

Bruises: 3

Complaints: Damn dog owners who cannot control their dogs

So the bruises have nothing to do with derby.  I got the bruises today because of a dog owner who could not control their dog.  Granted, I was running by the dog park but I was on the running path and people need to learn to control their dogs.  Okay, here is the deal.  I’m running, I was almost to a mile and I come up to the dog park.  I ALWAYS stay alert because even though the park is up off the water, dogs and their owners are always on the path and in the water.  Cool, I’m totally okay with that as long as the dogs are not running on the path in everyone’s way and the owners have some control.  Anyway, up ahead of me, I see three dogs playing, I’m watching them because they are starting to get aggressive with each other and I want to stay out of their way.  I have no idea where any of their owners are.  I keep running, slow down only a bit, and move farther to the right of the path as the dogs seem to be on the left by the water and running back and forth.  However, suddenly, one of the dogs turns and is heading straight for me.  I don’t even have enough time to react and bam – he runs right into me.  He ran at me so hard, I tried to jump out of the way, but it only helped to propel me into the air.  I landed on both feet but also on both hands.  My one hand had a small pebble sticking out of it and my knees red and scraped.  The worst part about it all is the feeling that everyone was watching.  The guy behind me actually stopped and asked me if I was okay. It was prettyyyyy embarrassing.  Luckily, he wasn’t hot 🙂 But once again, the owner did nothing. Someone else asked if I was okay, but not sure it was the dogs owner.

So, now, I have a bruise on my hand and both my knees.  I will say, I think it was a good training lesson for derby! I ened up running the rest of the 4 miles with a minor limp because my knee that I hurt when training was the one that got hit hardest.

Enough complaining for one night, but I had to get it out. I love dogs, but sometimes, their owners suck.

Peace

 

One thought on “Running away – or straight at – dogs…

  1. Denise Fifelski says:

    I especially hate the dog owners that don’t pick up after theit dogs either. Stay safe and keep on running. Love, MOM

Leave a Reply

