I’m all BOUT it…

Miles Run: 0

# of bruises:

Pints of brew: 0

Complaints: 0

You may have noticed a change to my blog post this week… I added the number of bruises I have.  Why you ask?  Because I JUST signed up to learn to roller derby.  Not sure what roller derby is?  Well, you can read all about it but here is a quick synopsis per wikipedia:

Roller derby is a contact sport played by two teams of five members roller skating in the same direction around a track. Game play consists of a series of short matchups (“jams”) in which both teams designate a scoring player (the “jammer”) who scores points by lapping members of the opposing team. The teams attempt to assist their own jammer while hindering the opposing jammer —in effect playing both offense and defense simultaneously. Roller derby is played by more than 1,000 amateur leagues on every inhabited continent.[1]

While in Lansing I always wanted to do this but never garnered the nerve.  For some reason, Austin pulls out the best in me.  Also, it helps that I had encouragement from friends, a boyfriend who says it’s cool as long as I win (he says with marathon, I’m considered a winner cause I finished) and I know someone who already skates.

The Austin Texas Roller Derbyseems to be a pretty big thing here.  Now, I don’t get to actually bout while in Rec.  First, I have to start in primer and learn to skate (which I think will be okay considering my days at Bonaventure were pretty stellar – hey, don’t hate middle school friends, I had mad skills), then I work my way up with the option to tryout sometime down the line.  I realllllly want to tryout for next season so I signed up to practice two days a week.  I get to scrimmage if I make it out of Primer, which I will, and I am hoping I do it pretty fast.

Actual derbygrrl bruise

Anyway, the bruises.  Now, my guess is that as I learn to derby, skate and eventually scrimmage, I will be coming home covered in bruises.  Please do not think that my guy beats me, that I have abusive parents, or that I randomly fell the next time you see me and my arms and legs are black and blue.  Seriously, that wasn’t meant to be a joke.  In fact, if you laughed, you need to donate to the Austin Children’s Shelter (the nonprofit I was raising money for for the marathon – the one that helps to put abused kids into a better environment) right this second. I will even give you a minute to get up, go get your wallet, and pull out your credit card…   …   …   …   …. Okay…. are we ready now? Good.  Anyway, I added the bruise count because I joined the Derby rec league.

I am very excited about this and hope you enjoy the posts that I will continue to write about running, beer, yoga, and now, derby.  It’s ime to buy some skates and a helmet. See ya soon.

Leigh

2 thoughts on “I’m all BOUT it…

Leave a Reply

