Look, Girls Go #2 Too.

MILES RUN: 0

PINTS OF GUINNESS CONSUMED: 4 yesterday; 0 today

COMPLAINTS: The Lions are making me angry right now and I don’t even care about football.

Please note, this post may not be one you want to read if you still believe girls don’t go “Number 2.”

So, yesterday, on my 9 mile run, I took along a Gu with me.  For those of you who do not use or have never heard of Gu let me first get you “in the know.” According to the website:

“GU provides athletes with a shot of 100 calories in the form of 70-80% maltodextrin and 30-20% fructose (The ratio depends upon the flavor.). Why maltodextrin? It’s a complex carbohydrate, and studies have shown that some complex carbs are actually digested faster than simple sugars like table sugar and honey. This matters because the quicker your body can tap these carbs, the less blood needs to be diverted away from your muscles to the stomach to digest them… Fructose is the principle sugar in fruit, and we use it because your stomach processes it faster than the maltodextrin, yet it doesn’t produce a sugar high like you experience with simple sugars.”

But that might not really describe what it is… Gu is a packet of a pudding like substance.  It comes in all sorts of flavors but I currently like Vanilla Bean.  When you first eat it, it’s gross… It feels like thick pudding which is kind of curdling in your mouth, but not really.  It’s sticky and some flavors taste like absolute nasty cold medicine that you can’t rid the taste of.  I made the mistake of trying the berry one and I wanted to vomit. Straight up spit it out of my mouth the minute I cut off the top and pushed it out of the packet like toothpaste.  I find the vanilla tastes the best and has the best constituency.

Now on Gu’s website they make a statement that is very important to me personally.

“We don’t use more fructose because too much of it can upset your stomach and draw precious blood away from your muscles.”

Some of you may know that I tend to eat a lot of foods that don’t always like my belly.  I’m not talking about what I call my “Pie Belly” (that will never go away because I love pie and beer and burgers), I’m talking about the fact that I can’t go out after eating raw garlic, ice cream, or some spicy foods… you get the point.  So, the above quote is super important to me.  In fact, I have run a race before where I just ate a Power Bar and let me tell you, I was thankful for bathrooms.  As for Gu, during my first marathon I did not train with Gu but when people were handing it out along the route, I needed something so I decided to try it.  WORST mistake ever.  Gu, in fact, does not upset your stomach IF you train with it ahead of time.  If, however, you decide to give it a one time try when your belly is already in knots because you are running your first marathon, hope a bathroom is near or be prepared to run with stomach rot.

So, yesterday, when I took the Gu halfway through my run, I was expecting my stomach to go biserk but nothing really happened.  I noted that I did not eat anything in the morning and that right after taking the Gu, I drank water.  I think this helps as it doesn’t just sit in the belly.  And I gotta say, about fifteen minutes after I took it, I felt it.  I was at the halfway point of my run when I took it.  I was already beginning to feel a little fatigue but I think that might have had something to do with the Young’s Double Chocolate Stout and Circle’s Irish Stout from Ginger Man (with a ginger! woot!!)  the night before.  Regardless, I could feel the energy it provided in the sense that the second half was actually on par with the first half of my run. Usually by mile six, I am feeling my legs and this time it was like I was ready to go.

Do I recommend Gu?  Yes, as long as you don’t take it when you aren’t expecting it and know how your body will react, or if its the fist couple times… make sure a bathroom is near.

Sorry peeps, girls poo too.

LAF lovin’ the Gu

One thought on “Look, Girls Go #2 Too.

Leave a Reply

