I had a heart attack… or not.

MILES RUN: 7.55 Saturday; Soccer Sunday and I am super sore because of it. 

PINTS O GUINNESS CONSUMED: 0 today

COMPLAINTS: I had my first anxiety attack today. It was awful.

Today was an interesting day.  My morning was great.  Fabulous actually.  I was stress free, I was ready to run, and I was ready to work.  I ended up not running simply because my body needed a rest.  I played two games of soccer yesterday and ran almost 8 miles Saturday and my body felt like it took a beating (which is not normal but maybe the shin splints really pushed me back far?).  I drove a friend to the airport and came home ready to work.  Got lots of work done, went to the coffee shop for a change of scenery then came back home.  At that point, I realized how tired I was.  Now, to be fair, I have not gotten a ton of sleep.  Like many people, this weekend was filled with fun and games.  So, eh, I decided to try and nap.  It was around 6 PM and at the time, I had no idea what was going on and I still have no idea what brought it on, but I began to have an anxiety attack.  Dude, what the hell?

By the time Randy came over to help me get rid of my shin splints with this new technique – Graston – I was a wreck.  I have never had this happen before so I was freaking out, making it ten times worse.  I honestly thought I was having a heart attack.  Needless to say, Graston didn’t happen. Instead, and thankfully, Randy forced me to go outside and walk then grab something to eat.  And my dear friend Joy helped to calm me down as well by reminding me to stop freaking myself out.

If you have had an anxiety attack you know how it feels – awful.  Sweating, shortness of breath, the feeling like you are not real (I would not know what this feels like until I experienced it and no it isn’t like tripping for those of you who have experimented with that) – it’s very similar to heart attack symptoms.  I wanted to cry, I wanted to puke, I wanted to crawl in a hole and die.  Overly dramatic? Me?  No way… hahaha.  Seriously though, this is the weirdest experience I have ever encountered.  And no idea what caused it.  Cause, like I said, up until that point, my day was sweet.

So, maybe my running and soccer are now a drug?  Maybe I NEED to workout to not feel anxious.  Ha, who knows.  What I do KNOW is that I will be running tomorrow just in case.

Check ya later!

Leigh

 


One thought on “I had a heart attack… or not.

  1. Denise Fifelski says:

    I hope you’re ok now. Panic attacks are awful. They come when you least expect them. When I was about your age I had them too. They are the worst feeling in the world. It’s your body’s reaction to stress I think, even though you don’t think you are stressed. It leaves you feeling completely drained. The good news is that it is not life treatening. You have to work through it. You can also get help if they keep coming. I think your life changes you have made have caught up with you. Hopefully it is the only one you will experience. It has been over twenty years since I’ve had one. They just stopped happening. I love you. MOM

Leave a Reply

