Accepting Insanity

MILES RUN: 2

PINTS OF GUINNESS CONSUMED: 5

COMPLAINTS: The Tigers are better than the Rangers… intense game.

Well, it’s five o’clock in the morning and I am freaking tired but alas I’m up and cannot sleep.  It’s annoying that every so often now, I am get this insomnia I cannot kick.

But as I was staring at the ceiling all I could think of was Tough Mudder and how badly I want to do it.  Now, this all started because tonight (okay, last night) at the bar that I went to alone (hey, I gotta meet people somehow) I started talking to two guys because one of them was wearing a Tough Mudder shirt.  He survived the obstacle course just recently and was pretty much as geeked as I was to talk about it.  It turns out there is another one near Austin that is taking place in March. So… after I am done training for my marathon, I will be taking part in Tough Mudder.

Side note: Don’t worry, I don’t have to raise money for Tough Mudder, just the marathon, which, I encourage you to donate to the Austin Children’s Shelter today! 

What am I worried about most?  Not diving off a platform, not getting muddier than I did at Mudathlon, not the ten miles in possibly blazing hot sun, not the pit of fire (if there isn’t a burn ban).  No, I am afraid of the 12 foot walls.  Seriously people, that is more than twice my height.  How the hell am I supposed to scale a 12 foot wall?  I hope they have trampolines.

The dude who finished it that I was talking to said it was intense and then I found out he is military, so, of course, the first thing that pops in my head is: “Oh, if HE can do it, I can do it…” again, what the hell?  Who the hell do I think I am? I can barely lift a twenty pound weight these days.

But you know who I am… I’m the one who, if someone else can do it, I can do it which made me sign up for this marathon in the first place and is the reason I plan on doing the Austin Tri in May.  Is it competition that is healthy or is this a bit of insanity?

So, while I may have had two or three too many pints tonight (and apparently not in the correct type of glass, I learned), I met some pretty neat people and made up my mind to accept my insanity and sign up for Tough Mudder.

Cheers to insanity,

Leigh

2 thoughts on “Accepting Insanity

  1. Denise Fifelski says:

    Tough Mudder? Are you nuts?? All that mud. Ew. Are you going to watch the Tigers tonite? Uncle John and Kevin got tickets for tonites game and left yesterday for Detroit. Look for them on tv in the stands. I love you. Take it easy on the guiness. Love MOM

Leave a Reply

